Back in the (beer) Saddle Again!!! (Part Three, Bissell Bros.)

I learned something on this 3-part adventure afternoon, my stomach only has the capacity for 3 flights in a 2 hour period. I was FULL and running short on time as I had to catch the new Avengers in iMax. So, needless to say, I did not spend as much time in this brewery as I wanted to. I really liked what I tried though. I’ll be back!

IMG_2090 IMG_2091

IMG_2092

Bissell Bros. is a fun, dude-like atmosphere. Very small space in the tap room to visit, but very friendly staff and if you like that “bittah beah”, as my Mom calls it, you would like it here. And I do.

Bissell was founded by brothers, Peter and Noah Bissell in Portland at the end of 2013. They’ve been open for under two years and are wildly successful. Check out this article from the Press Herald about the brewers and their expanding business.

IMG_2095

IMG_2097

Substance – IPA (6.5% ABV)

Their flagship beer. And for good reason. Light and lemon-y, with a nice bite! I could drink a whole lot of this.

IMG_2098

Baby Genius – Blonde Ale (4% ABV)

This blonde loves a blonde ale! A light, session ale. Easy to drink.

IMG_2099

Pilot – IPA (7% ABV)

Probably my favorite during this trip. Strong IPA flavor but smooth finish.

IMG_2100

Bucolia – Red Ale (5.6% ABV)

Nice caramel notes. I’m going to admit, I had hit the wall with beer tasting that day. My stomach had reached capacity and I apologized to the beeristas that I couldn’t finish them. When I told them my day they laughed and were perfectly understanding.

Also, not my three strongest blog posts. My descriptions are a little lacking and rushed. But, hey they can’t all be winners can they? The important part is I’m back on the trail! More to come soon! I’m still going to complete my resolution of going to every brewery on the Beer Trail in one year. Right???

Leave a Reply

