Atlantic Brewing Co. in Bah Hahbah.

Driving to Bar Harbor in the Summer is one of my favorite things to do. It’s one of my favorite places in the world! And I only live an hour away from it. How lucky am I? I’ve done the tour here before a few years ago, but this day did not do the tour. Instead, a friend and myself just did the tasting room and got lunch at Mainely Meat BBQ, which is located on site.

IMG_2557 IMG_2559 IMG_2566 IMG_2567

Atlantic Brewery began as Acadia Brewing in 1990. They quickly outgrew their popular downtown Bar Harbor location and moved to a farmhouse on the outer part of the island on the Knox Road. They now distribute bottles throughout Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York City, Maryland and Pennsylvania. Pretty impressive.

IMG_2560

Summer Ale – 4.3% ABV

Pilsner. Great taste! Light and crisp. This was going to be my favorite until…well, I’ll get there.

IMG_2561

Blueberry Ale – 5.1% ABV

Wheat ale. Blueberry beers are tough. Like pumpkin beers are tough. Some smack you upside the head with flavor and spices. This one does not have an over powering blueberry flavor, but I wouldn’t commit to more than a bottle. This one is pretty to look at though. Just don’t marry it.

IMG_2562

Real Ale – 4.8% ABV

Classic brown ale. Their flagship beer. Very tasty. Also, when you are in the tasting room make sure to try the pretzels they offer with the Real Ale mustard. I may have abused my mustard privileges while there. And I got a bottle of the mustard to bring home.

IMG_2563

04609 Double IPA – 6.8% ABV

Named after the area zip code. I had heard about this beer being sold earlier this year, and I really wanted to try it but didn’t commit to a full pack of it. I love Double IPA’s. Unfortunately, I did not love this one. There was not that rich, smoothness and complex flavor from Double IPA’s. It was really bitter. It just doesn’t compare to the other great Double IPA’s out there. Sorry not sorry.

IMG_2564

Coal Porter – 5.6% ABV

Five different malts are used to brew this chocolatey and coffee-y tasting brew.

IMG_2565

Ellen’s Coffee Stout – 5.4% ABV

This one right here. SO. GOOD. Brewed with milk sugar, coffee, and a vanilla that is so delicious. This is a brew you could drink in the morning.

IMG_2580

The tastings are very small, if you didn’t notice. So I saved room for New Guy IPA. 6% ABV and classic IPA flavors that go nicely with a pulled pork sandwich, if I do say so myself. This was a huge glass of it though. I think I finished a quarter of it because I wanted to save room for dessert, which was…

IMG_2581

Brother Adams Honey Bragget – 10.5% ABV

You only get an 8oz. glass of this because of the ABV. Which is fine. I split mine with my friend so that I could still drive. Delicious, sweet honey and copper flavor.  Definitely a sipper of a beer. But a sweet finish to a delicious afternoon.

Leave a Reply

